Canterbury Tales: March

A belated post about Easter…!

Easter adventures and springtime: how did you see out March?

image

A long weekend in Oxford

It still feels like I only moved to Canterbury last week, so it felt a bit traiterous to head back to Oxfordshire for the Easter weekend. Oxford in the spring is one of my favourite experiencesย ever; it’s so gorgeous, the Cotswold stone shines brightly and there’s a really pleasant bustle to the city. In addition, the Oxford Literary Festival is on this time of year so there’s normally some book-related fun to be had!

image
Book-themed stage in Blackwells bookshop, Oxford

Board games everywhereย 

I hadn’t seen my parents since (before) Christmas, and friends were around for a while, so it was a great chance to catch up with everyone. A particular highlight was heading to Thirsty Meeples for a few hours; it’s a board game cafe where you pay a set charge for three hours and choose from one of their thousands (!) of games to play. Added bonus: the food and drink is really good too, and it’s licenced if you want to drink whilst playing.

image
Definitely NOT having fun…

This time, we played Exploding Kittens (which, sadly, none of us were very impressed with – maybe it would be more fun after a glass of wine?), Ticket to Ride: Europe (always a classic and always exciting) and We Didn’t Playtest This Either!. We Didn’t Playtest This At All was a gift at Christmas, and it’s honestly been one of the most fun card games I’ve ever played. Certain cards cause you t0 lose if you say (or do) certain things, you can win with a round of rock/paper/scissors and it’s generally hysterical fun. Luckily, the sequel is equally entertaining.

To Bills or not to Bills?

On Good Friday, Mum and I went to Bill’s in Oxford for the first time in a while. I’ve been avoiding Bill’s because their staff tipping policy isn’t the best and the last time I went, I had to send food back – which I hate doing so much. Luckily, they’ve improved a lot since last summer and their food is back to mouthwateringly-good standards! [Note: since I wrote this, my parents went back and had a terrible experience, so Bill’s is still off the radar]

The rest of the Easter weekend was spent catching up with my cats, reading anything I could get my hands on and generally having a break from a very busy March! I can’t wait to see what the rest of Spring brings..

image
New friends!
Leave a Reply

