Canterbury tales: end of June 2017

Hello, blog! It’s been a while. Anyway, I’m back with another attempt to write more regularly about day-to-day existence in Kent-and-Library land. I am still in Canterbury (hello, permanent contract!) and still battling on with the MA. One day, one day…

One thing I’d like to be better at is taking time to remember the positive, tiny things that make a difference in every day life: the things that get me laughing in the morning or thinking ‘huzzah!’ when I get in from work. So, this week’s good things are…

Mega-bunny on campus

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

Okay, this is technically a cheat from last week, but mega-bunny is still up, still (mostly) intact and still lurking over all the rest of the lifesized-bunnies outside the Library. I think he’s probably made by architecture students. I think he’s better than the sculpture he sits near. I love mega-bunny. πŸ˜€

Strawberry cake

a19517ee-37fd-4947-b142-a6887cfcfcd7

I’ve had an itch to bake this very-strawberry cake from Smitten Kitchen for weeks now, so on Wednesday I finally gave in and made cake just because. It’s been a while since I baked for the sheer joy of it, and after an afternoon of MA work it was exactly what I needed. In true OTT-style, I doubled the recipe, made far too much cake for anyone to ever eat (even with colleagues helping out) and now our kitchen is filled with strawberries. There are worse things to happen. The verdict? A bit too sweet for me, really, but still suspiciously good.

Completion of counselling

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

One of the reasons I’ve been quiet on here is a pretty grim one: towards the end of last year my mental health took a serious, serious nosedive and I had to get some extra support, thanks to my excellent workplace, to get me out of it. I’ve been having counselling sessions since early this year and they have honestly been the best thing I’ve done in a long time. This week, we discussed forward steps knowing I only have one session left…and my counsellor and I decided that actually, I’m alright now! I’ve still got some work to do, of course, and I’m scared I might not be able to hold on this good state of mind, but I am so happy to be better than I’ve been in a long time. A good counsellor might not work for everyone, but it’s certainly done wonders for me. πŸ™‚

Harry Potter, Harry Potter

Processed with VSCO with nc preset

In small payday treats, I allowed myself to go into Primark today and see what cosy post-gym wear things I could find because lazy. Primark have turned a bit of a corner recently and their branded stuff is amazing! So, of course, I had to find Harry Potter themed PJs. I’m going to wear them all evening with pride πŸ˜€

This week, I’m continuing my attempt to get back into gym work after a bad cold, waiting for my new passport to arrive, declaring war on the weeds in our garden and continuing work on our departmental bid for Archives Accreditation in between delivering cartoon-based outreach sessions!

How was your week? What’s been bringing you joy?

Leave a Reply

